The Mayor and five Commissioners make policy decisions in accordance with procedures and responsibilities set out in state law. The Town Manager carries out policies and directives of the Mayor and Commissioners. The Board appoints the Town Manager, Town Clerk, and Town Attorney. The Town Legal services are provided by Cauley Pridgen P.A.

The Mayor is elected for a four-year term. Commissioners have four-year terms, which are staggered. During the election cycle, two Commissioners and the Mayor are elected one year, and three Commissioners are elected two years later, so three elected official positions are normally filled by elections every two years. Town elections for Mayor and Commissioner are non-partisan and at-large (no districts are designated) and are held in November of odd-numbered years.

The Board of Commissioners appoints several boards and commissions as well as various advisory committees. These boards include the Planning Board, Board of Adjustment, Parks and Recreation Commission, Appearance Commission, and Downtown Development Committee. 

Regular Meetings
The Board of Commissioners has two regular meetings per month at 7:00 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at Town Hall. Holidays and other events may affect the meeting schedule. The agendas and minutes of these meetings are posted on our website.

A public comment period is held at each Board of Commissioners meeting. Citizens who speak at board meetings are asked to keep comments within three minutes as a courtesy to others. Written information may be presented to provide detailed information.

Public Hearings
The Mayor and Commissioners normally hold public hearings on subdivision, zoning, special use and master land use plan proposals as needed. Holidays and other events may affect hearing dates.